On Finding Homes

I went through the darkest forests,
hoping to find a place to call my own,
and I found you also searching
a place to call your home.

So on we traveled, through the desert sand
searching, ever searching for somewhere to stay
and I didn’t even notice the sky was our ceiling
as we went on our way.

Through the seas we rode on ships
looking for an island lost
and I didn’t even notice that the rain and storm
were the walls that held us close.

We climbed mountains, and more, and more
seeking a hidden valley for our own.
The saddest thing was I didn’t even notice
the stars were calling you home.

 

I traveled on alone, searching,
sifting through desert sand and braving storms;
searching for bits and pieces
you might have left behind alone.

I didn’t need any oasis, or any island;
I didn’t need a valley for my own
because I finally realized wherever you were,

It was where I felt like home.

Leave a Reply

